Why we have too few women leaders : A TED talk by Sheryl Sandberg

A very interesting TED talk. This TED talk was  the genesis of Sheryl Sandberg’s  best selling book ‘Lean In’.  A book and a talk that has been greatly praised and criticized. I  have just finished  Sheryl’s book and I loved it. The main idea behind the book is that  many women are not in leadership positions because of gendered  and sexist societal expectations that are put upon women and men.  Sheryl goes on to say that women are holding themselves back when they refuse to recognize this sexism and challenge those expectations in their actions and conversations. I agree it is not enough to just say, that’s not fair. Women like myself  need to say  “Hey that is not fair and I will not be limited  by the guilt society often  tries to make me feel as a working mother and I will not be meek and mild just because you think women are the fairer sex.”

Listen to the TED talk and tell me what you think.

Sheryl Sandberg Why we have too few women leaders

This entry was posted in Leadership, Uncategorized, women and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

